Hunted – Part 1

This story is one I’ve had in my head for a while now, and I just haven’t had the time to get it on ‘paper’ with all of my other projects going on. I figured now would be as good a time as any to finally sit down and write it. It will be posted on this blog exclusively, at least for the time being. I will only post a chapter at a time, as each chapter will be an average of about 2000 words and I don’t want to dump the entire story on you all at once.

Hunted – Part 1

“Just one more class,” I muttered to myself as I pulled a book from my locker. The week had dragged on slowly, and although it was finally Friday, all I wanted to do was sleep. Slamming the door shut, I turned to see a familiar face smiling at me as he walked by. I smiled back and nodded before heading in the direction of my next class.

I hated math class. I didn’t hate math, I just hated the class. It was so boring and repetitive, and only a couple of my friends were stuck there with me. The rest of my friends had made the wise decision to opt out of the final year of math as it wasn’t necessary to graduate.

“We still on for tonight?” Amanda asked as I dropped my book on my desk and pulled up a chair.

“For sure. My parents are already gone for the weekend.”

“We should stop at the video store and pick up some munchies before we head to your place. Stock up for movie night.”

I nodded in response, but before I could answer then teacher began the lecture. I sighed and got as comfortable as I could in the hard plastic chairs, settling in for an hour of boredom.

My mind wandered as the teacher spoke, trying to find ways of entertaining myself to prevent my eyes from closing. The weather was nice, and I kept glancing out the windows that lined one entire wall of the classroom, watching birds flying around in the trees outside.

The weather had been nicer than normal, and although there was supposed to be a storm that night, the sun was shining brightly and there were no clouds to be seen. I kept my fingers crossed that it would be nice enough to go for a late night walk after we watched movies.

“Hey, you awake?” Amanda said suddenly, and I turned to see that she was staring at me. The teacher was sitting at her desk and the other students were leaving the room with lots of shuffling and talking.

“Yeah, sorry.” I shook my head and grabbed my things quickly before walking back to my locker with her.

“You okay?”

“Yeah, just tired. It seemed like this week would never end.” I pulled hard on the lock, forcing it open so I could get to my things. Amanda talked my ear off as I went through the things in my locker deciding what I did and didn’t need for the weekend. I didn’t hear much of what she was saying, only nodding or mumbling in response when appropriate.

It wasn’t that I didn’t enjoy talking to her, I just couldn’t concentrate on what she was saying. I needed to grab something to eat and maybe a coffee to wake myself up before we got back to my house and started our movie night.

We left the school as fast as we could, walking away from it and feeling our freedom with every step we took.

“So there’s a party tomorrow night at the lake. You want to go?” Amanda asked as we made our way to the video store nearby.

“Sure. I don’t know if I feel like getting drunk this weekend, but I’ll go hang out. Who else is going?”

“Jason and Corey and all of those guys are going, and Rayne mentioned stopping by for a bit with a couple of girls. It’s not supposed to be anything big, just a fire and some drinking.”

I nodded and smiled. I already felt more awake just being away from the school, and i was looking forward to spending the night watching movies and munching on junk food with my best friend. It was our Friday night tradition and had been for years, and it was something we both looked forward to very week.

“We should get these,” I said, pulling a bag of chips from the shelf and holding them up so she could seem them over the shelves.

“And these,” she said, holding up a box of caramel filled chocolates.

After stocking up on chips, chocolate, and pop, we left the store with our loot. The walk to my house was only ten minutes from there, and we took our time to enjoy the weather.

We could see clouds in the distance, but still a long ways off from the city. It would still be a while before the rain started, if it even rained at all. Our weather changed so often and drastically that we took the weatherman’s forecast with a grain of salt and usually expected the opposite of what was predicted. He was wrong about ninety percent of the time anyway.

“So I’m thinking about asking Jason out. I’m scared of what he’ll say, though,” Amanda said as we got to my house and dumped our things on a bench inside the door. “I don’t know if he likes me that way or not.”

“He’s been flirting up a storm with you for weeks, and he’s not dating anyone else. Go for it, I think he likes you.”

My phone buzzed in my pocket, and I pulled it out.

Don’t have any parties while we’re gone. See you on Sunday night. Love you.

The text was from my mom, who although she didn’t actually mind me having parties over, she didn’t want to seem too lenient. She had no problem with me doing stupid teenage things as long as I was willing to take full responsibility for my actions. Which meant that if I got in trouble with the cops, she and my dad wouldn’t bail me out. It was their way of keeping me in check, and as far as I was concerned, it worked.

“As if you’d have a party, anyway. As soon as anyone found out there was a party at this house, the place would be packed and you’d have to deal with people breaking your stuff and having to call the cops yourself.” Amanda had obviously read the message over my shoulder, but took the bag of goodies and began walking into the room I used as my own private living room.

No one else used the room for anything, so I had taken over decorating it. There were big overstuffed cushions on the floor in front of the 32 inch flat screen television, and the leather couch had a fleece blanket draped over it. Posters of my favourite bands covered the walls, and I had painted the walls themselves a dark shade of purple.

I knew I was lucky to have en entire room to myself aside from my bedroom, but I didn’t rub it in anyone’s face. In fact, I hadn’t even told a lot of my friends that I lived in the massive house they always talked about. I had heard many of my friends say that it was owned by a rich snobby old woman, and some others just envied whoever lived there. I would just smile and say nothing. My family had always had a lot of money, but It made me uncomfortable to talk about it when a lot of the people I went to school with had so little.

“I’m going to get some glasses, you start the movie,” she said to me as she walked out of the room. Only a few minutes later, we were settling in for a long night of movies and conversation.

The first movie was a comedy, and although we had seen it before and loved it, we were too engrossed in our conversation about boys to realize that the movie had ended long before. This was a custom on movie nights. We had trouble watching movies we had never seen before because we talked too much.

With the lights off and the only light coming from the TV, we saw the first lightning strike. It startled both of us, but we smiled at eachother and turned off the movie.

Lighting some candles, we set them around the room for ambient light. Once the room was glowing yellow from the tiny flames, we returned to our seats.

“I hope the power goes out. Everything is so cool and creepy when the power’s out.” Amanda stared out the large windows facing onto the street as if waiting for it to happen.

“If the power goes out, we can’t finish watching our movies. And we won’t be able to make hot cocoa.” I feigned panic and ran into the kitchen to boil the kettle as she followed me laughing.

“You and your damn chocolate.” Shaking her head, she pulled the hot chocolate mix from the cupboard and set it on the counter next to the two mugs I had taken down.

“It’s a problem,” I said guiltily. The light above the sink flickered for a moment, but remained lit. “You might get your wish.”

Amanda did a little happy dance before hopping onto the counter to wait for our drinks.

“We should do a seance!” she said suddenly, startling me as I stared at the kettle, willing it to boil the water faster.

“Really? We’ve tried that before and nothing happened. Nothing’s going to happen this time, either.”

“Come on, we already have candles lit, and if the power really does go out, maybe it’ll work,” she whined, giving me puppy dog eyes and sticking her bottom lip out.

“Yeah, whatever, fine. But it’s not going to work.” The switch clicked on the kettle, and I jumped across the kitchen to unplug it and make our cocoa.

“How cool would it be if it did work, though?”

“Pretty cool, I guess. I don’t really believe in that stuff. You know that.”

Amanda rolled her eyes in an exasperated sort of way. “You should be more open-minded. Just because you haven’t seen any ghosts, it doesn’t mean they aren’t real.”

“Well when I see one, I’ll believe it. Until then, I’m going to continue being a sceptic.”

We took our mugs of hot chocolate and made our way slowly back to the living room, switching the lights off as we went.

The thunder was so loud when we got back to the room that it seemed to shake the house. I smiled and closed my eyes, enjoying every second of he rumble. Another bright flash lit up the room momentarily before disappearing once again.

Amanda sat on the sofa with her mug, sipping it slowly as I sat on the desk in front of the windows. I set my mug down and turned to her, but as I was about to speak, the entire street went dark. The candles already lit, we could still see eachother clearly.

“Awesome,” Amanda whispered, “We should go for a walk.”

I raised an eyebrow. “I’m not going out in that. I like storms, but only from the comfort of a warm and dry place. Where I won’t get drowned by the torrents of rain.”

“Party pooper.”

I ignored her and turned to look out the window, seeing my street illuminated for brief seconds by the lightning. I was surprised not to see any cars, but realized that it was already well past midnight.

Amanda and I kept talking, but I watched outside, almost hypnotized by the storm. I had always been drawn to thunder storms, even as a child, and I couldn’t help but stare out the glass panes as the storm tore through the city.

After a while, I thought I saw movement outside. I wasn’t sure, so I kept watching the area, and when the lightning flashed again, I saw someone limping down the middle of the street.

I stopped listening to Amanda and watched, waiting to see him again. It didn’t take long, and this time it seemed he was coming toward the house. Without a word to Amanda, I stood up and left the room, making my way to the door to look outside.

“Hey,” Amanda said behind me, startling me as I pulled the heavy door open.

The person I saw was now directly in front of me, but I couldn’t see their face in the darkness.

“I need help,” said a weak voice, and I moved aside to allow him into the entrance.

Leave a Reply

