NaNoWriMo Anyone?

Alright, so I’ve been crap at updating this thing lately. It’s not that I haven’t been writing, I’ve just been bad at updating the blog. I promise I’ll try harder! Is that what you want to hear? Good. Now that we have that sorted out, I’ve just realized that it’s November. A little late, yes, seeing as it’s the evening of the 5th and there are already Christmas ads being shown on TV. I’m a bit slow on the uptake lately, in case you were wondering. Sort of just off in my own world. I didn’t even get dressed up for Halloween this year (I know! Sacrilege! I didn’t even get to celebrate my favourite holiday!) because I’ve just been in a daze.

So now that I’ve realized (several days late) that it’s the month that everyone loses their heads over writing a novel before the page turns over on the calendar, how many people out there are actually doing this whole NaNoWriMo thing?

With what I’m currently working on, I could probably still catch up and get 50k knocked out before the end of the month, but I’m still not sure if I’m going to actually do it. I’ll probably just see how I’m doing after I run away from civilization for 5 days this Friday night. If I can get enough done before then (as I sure as hell won’t get any writing done while hiding away with my best friend eating too much leftover Halloween candy and watching old Disney movies), I guess I’ll decide how to go about the whole idea of writing 50k by the time the clock strikes midnight on the 30th. As much as I would like to officially state that I’m already doing it and several thousand words in, I can’t commit to that. Well, I could, but I’d be lying if I said it was for sure going to happen because I know I’m a giant procrastinator and I’ll probably hit the 30k mark and just ‘meh, good enough’ it and take a week off.

Part of me definitely wants to take on this challenge, though, mostly due to the fact that I have a massive writing project that I want to get done and I’ve barely written more than 40k words for it so far. That may sound like a decent number, but it’s really not, at least not compared to the giant number I have in my overly delusive mind for what I want by the time it’s done. Yes, I’m crazy.

Anyway, if you’re doing the challenge, how’s it going for you? And if you’re not doing it, why not? And good for you for not trying to purposely drive yourself insane in 30 days or less.

Also, just in case you’re wondering, I’m up to a whopping 2745 words for this month. Pathetic, I know. But hey, I’m a roll tonight and expect to have a couple thousand more words done before I quit for the night.

2 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo Anyone?

  1. ninjaitis says:

    I am doing it for the first time since high school this year! I am using NaNo to finish my first draft of a novel I already had about 50k on but I want to get to 100k so I can edit it and have something decent. I really love the community and doing with along with so many others really pushes me to get this thing finished!

    • kimberleymc says:

      See, that’s what I like to hear! I’m going to unofficially do it this month because I was hoping to get a good chunk of a novel done this month anyway, but I’ll probably try to pull off something similar next month because I’m not as busy in December as I am this month.

Leave a Reply

