Tattooing and Writing

So! How many of you are doing NaNoWriMo this year? I decided a few weeks ago that I was going to go for it this year, and so far I’m ahead of schedule, which is exactly where I want to be. I should be writing my novel right now, but I figured I’d pause to take a moment to enjoy the sound of loud rock music and the buzz of a tattoo gun while my boyfriend tattoos himself. Yeah, it’s as awesome as it sounds.

Anyway, back to the topic, who’s doing NaNoWriMo? Or are you one of those people who sits and silently judges those of us doing it with your shifty eyes, telling us it’s stupid and a waste of time or that writers write all year? Either way, thoughts? I’m pretty happy with how much I’ve gotten done so far, and this is just a check in post while I take a break from the book for a bit. I’ve got just under 5,000 words written so far since yesterday, and I plan on knocking out at least a couple thousand more before this day is over. Not a bad start in my opinion. I was aiming more for 10,000 before work on Monday, but we’ll see if I can pull that off with family dinner and whatnot still to come today.

So here’s another question. If you are doing the 50k this month, are you doing what most people are aiming for with the 1667 words a day, or are you splitting it up differently? I considered doing 10k each weekend, which would still add up to the 50,000 by the 30th, although I’m not sure I’ll go that route. It would, oddly enough, be easier for me to do that than to try to fit time in every day. Plus then you have all week to just do life and work and shit and you only have to focus on writing during the weekends. I have plenty of time on my weekends, so hey, it works for me if I do end up trying that way. Feels like less commitment in a way.

Your thoughts?

Happy writing to those of you participating in the challenge!

Leave a Reply

