Word Count Update Nov. 15th

This is when I decide to post just for the sake of posting the word count. Yep. That’s pretty much all this post is good for. While some are still trying to hit the goal word count for today, the exact midpoint of NaNoWriMo (which happens to be 25,000 words in case you didn’t know), there are others still who I know are flying way past that mark, and some have already finished the challenge for the month.

I’ve been lucky in that I’ve had a lot of free time this month to sit and zone out in front of my keyboard to just dump thousands of words at a time. Long days at work have slowed me down a couple of times, but then I jump right back in and crank out way more words than necessary to get me further ahead. Again, I’m calling this lucky. And in no way am I trying to say I’m trying harder than anyone else, I’ve just gotten a lot of unexpected free time this month to up my word count significantly.

When I do hit the 50k mark, I won’t be stopping. I’ll still have quite a bit more to go on the first draft of this book, so I’m going to see exactly how much I can get written this month.

How much have the rest of you written? More or less than you expected or hoped to have done by this point? Have you given up completely, or are you right on target?

My official word count for November right now, as it stands (I’m still writing today and am hoping to get a couple thousands more words done before I stop): 37,012 words.

The total word count for my novel at the moment: 50,510 words. So I have to say I’m fairly happy so far. To be honest, I never expected to be able to pull off this whole 50,000 words in a month thing, let alone surpass that goal. Yay for me!

And yay for you, to anyone else who is attempting this insane challenge, even if you aren’t sure you’ll hit your mark! You can do this! 😉

If you want to add me as a buddy on the NaNoWriMo site, you can find me here: http://nanowrimo.org/participants/KMCrawford

Leave a Reply

