Goodbye Day Job

So today I made a big decision. One that’s going to effect my entire life. No, I’m not exaggerating. I had one of the worst days today, and it was almost entirely work related. I won’t get into it, but the point is that I think I have finally come to the end of my career as a janitor. Sure the pay is good, and it’s an easy and mindless job, and it’s got a paycheque every two weeks, but I am so far from happy it make my eyes squint just staring off into the distance trying to find that happy that went missing a long time ago.

I was so much happier when I was working for myself designing and selling clothing, so that’s what I’m going to do. Along with writing, of course, and drawing and photography and just being creative in general. It’s time to start living off of my art instead of waiting for paycheques from an employer, especially when that wait sometimes goes a week longer than it should.

On the plus side, it will give me way more time to work on my projects, which most definitely includes my books and short stories and this blog. On the not so plus side, it’s terrifying and I’m not sure how I’m supposed to pull this off. The decision came at an awkward time for my finances – in other words, I’m pretty much broke and my incoming cheque isn’t going to do much good aside from covering some bills. BUT, I’ve lived on the money from my latex clothing before, and I know I can do it again. It’s just a stressful job for the sake of having to do absolutely everything myself for not a whole lot of money while I get it up and running again.

Seriously though, as terrified as I am to say goodbye to this job, I have been wanting to set myself up to live on my creative ventures for a really long time. I do have some legs to stand on, as my clothing already has a small following and I already run my photography business in my city and occasionally sell photo shoots when I have extra time.

I just have to convince myself this is the right thing to do and that it will all work out for the better…

Leave a Reply

