Better Luck Next Month

I’ve found that despite having more time to write recently, I haven’t had as  much motivation. I’ve been enjoying not having a “real job” quite a bit, being able to walk my dog more and go on more adventures, but it feels like anytime I do have the motivation to get some writing done, I can’t force it to happen. I’ll get a few hundred words out and that’s where it stops.

Don’t get me wrong, I’ve been trying to write more, and I’ve been able to write more words than normal, just not for my stories that are actually important. Lack of focus? Yeah. Trying to do too much all at once? Probably. My goal was to finish the draft of my book by the end of this month, which is definitely still very possible, but feels like a long ways away right now.

I’m keeping my fingers crossed that it will get better very soon. I’ve had a lot on my mind recently, and a lot of things that are, dare I say it, more important than writing, but that’s all getting sorted out. It’s not so much writer’s block, more a lack of interest in the story at the moment. I love my story, but I guess I’m just not in the right frame of mind to be writing something so dark when I’ve been so happy.

I’d like to sit and write and just do that for a few days, but I’m not sure I can even force myself to do that. Just in a funk, I guess… Hopefully it gets better soon and I can get back to my usual routine.

2 thoughts on “Better Luck Next Month

  1. Angela says:

    I have been the same way with my reading. It seems the more time I have to read, the less I feel like doing it. I am hoping the change of seasons here in Michigan (despite the fact that it was 70+ this weekend and snowing today) will get me out of my rut. Best of luck to you!

    • kimberleymc says:

      That’s exactly it, I feel like I have all of this extra time to get it done, so it’s easier to just push it off and tell myself I have plenty of time to do it tomorrow and that I can take today to relax. It just happens way more than I’d like.

Leave a Reply

