Change of Routine

I think it’s time to make a big change. Well, a big change for me. I hate mornings. I always have. I’ve never been a morning person. I’d rather be up all night and sleep until after noon than go to bed around midnight and be up at 8.

BUT I also noticed something during my trip across the country earlier this year. I work better when I’m up earlier. For some reason, my sleeping patterns got completely screwed up on that trip, and I started waking up between 8 and 9 AM every day whether I liked it or not. But that’s the thing – I did like it. Not the fact that it was early, but I didn’t wake up to an alarm, and I was getting so much more done in my day.

I had hours to sit and sip on tea and eat breakfast and work before it was even noon. By the time noon hit, I had already worked for 3 hours, eaten, and was getting ready to go visit family and go shopping and whatnot. And I felt like I had so much more time in my day. Technically, I didn’t have more time. I work late into the night normally, so I’m still able to work the same amount of time every day. And I do work really well at night when I can actually get the privacy to do so. Problem being that my boyfriend and I live in such a small house that privacy is hard to come by when we’re both home.

So my big change? I think it’s time to take back my mornings and get up earlier. Yeah, it means earlier bedtimes, but it’s easier for me to find my privacy in the mornings than at night. And I really need to increase my productivity. I’ve been out of a “day job” for over 3 weeks already, and I feel like I’ve gotten nothing accomplished in that time. I have gotten things done, including some new clothing made and sold, some new art, a few thousand measly words for my book, even managed to go out and check out some locations and find the perfect spot to stake a gold claim for the summer. But I’m not getting nearly as much done as I would like.

I like to have a whole list of things to do for a day and to get through most of them, if not all. Lately it’s only been one or two things from my list, which means the list hasn’t been going away at all. And it’s driving me insane. So hopefully once I start getting my mornings back, I’ll start getting more done. Which means more useful posts on here, more stories, more book work, more art, more everything because I’ll have more time and motivation to get more done. (How many times can I say more in one sentence? Haha 😛 )

The worst part is that I hate waking up to an alarm. When I wake up early in the morning on my own, I’m perfectly fine to wake up and go about my business. When I have to wake up to the obnoxious sound of an alarm, I wake up wanting to punch something. Honestly, I think my hatred is more for alarms than for mornings. But for me, mornings mean waking up to alarms, so the two go hand in hand.

Wish me luck, I’m going to need it. It’s going to be a fight to make myself get up early, no matter how badly I want to do this for myself.

 

Leave a Reply

