May’s Writing Challenge: Day 19

Super late getting this one up… The  cat got bad again, so I was trying to make him more comfortable all night. Anyway, here is the entry for tonight. Short, but it’s all I have energy to do tonight.

Aleksi was always loyal. He was always there for me when I needed a retreat from life as a goddess. He was only a human. But there was something special about him, something that drew me to him in every one of his incarnations.

I always found him. Sometimes when he was nothing more than a child, other times later in his life. But every human life he had, I always found him somehow.

He was sweet and kind, and never used me the way the others did. He treated me well, and despite me being a goddess, he still spoke to me as he would any other person. We were friends. He was one of my best friends, one of the few I had who was not an angel or a god like me. He took care of me when I needed a friend, someone who I didn’t have to talk to about the issues of my life or my work.

He would tell me about his life, his friends and family, anything and everything that he needed to get off of his chest. I listened, drinking wine or ale and eating fruit and bread and cheese. I laughed with him, I smiled with him, I cried with him. He was like a dirty secret I kept from the other gods and from the angels with whom I spent my time. He was, for the time I was with him, my everything.

The only thing I ever wanted of him was for him to be like me – to live forever as an immortal so that I did not have to wait for him to be reincarnated between each of his lives, which spanned so far apart that it felt as though I never really got to see him.

After thousands and thousands of years, here he is. Finally like me, an equal among the gods, and mine to keep forever. Mine to hold and love and protect, and to do so with a ferocity that I know scares most men. But he deserves it, all of it. He has been my protector all of these years, and it is only right that I should repay him now that it is possible.

Leave a Reply

