5 Inspirational Gifts Writers Will Love

Everyone needs a little inspiration at times. Some more than others. Either way, it’s always nice to receive gifts that help bring us inspiration. Today I’m focusing on writers. Things to help those scribblers and typists out there get their juices flowing.

It took a little while to sift through all of the amazing things I’ve found while looking for things to put on this list. It was much harder to narrow down than you would think. But here are my favourites from that long list.

1. A unique notebook is something any writer needs. They are handy for so many reasons, and I personally carry a small notebook with me in my purse for anything I may need to jot down on the go.

Click photo to go straight to this notebook's product page

Click photo to go straight to this notebook’s product page

I personally adore these ones from Cognitive Surplus. I want all of them. I could see them being used for so many different projects.

2. A pretty pen is also needed to write in that gorgeous notebook. From gorgeous fountain pens to colourful ballpoint pens, it has to write smoothly and last a while.

I actually love these ones for writing. I have several sets of them, but I probably have a few hundred pens, anyway.

3. Every writer should also own a nice leather journal. Perhaps one with a fancy buckle or clasp, or some detailed engravings. Lined or unlined. I have a weakness for leather journals, and I have some here with my books that are still brand new and unmarked, and may stay that way. I love the way they look, and I prefer the ones with handmade paper. They feel so great in the hands, and they have this way of making a person feel special when writing in them.

Click on the photo to go directly to this journal's product page

Click on the photo to go directly to this journal’s product page

I really like this one from TerraNegraStudio, but I like almost all leather journals. Like I said, it’s a weakness.

4.One thing I find is almost absolutely necessary is a mug. I don’t drink coffee, I hate the stuff – I know, I know, what kind of writer doesn’t drink coffee?! I don’t. I prefer tea. That said, I still use mugs as often as any coffee drinker, I just fill it with tea instead.

Click on the photo to go directly to this mug’s product page

I absolutely adore this mug. The art is gorgeous (the artist has other designs available too, and you can check them out here => Andreas Preis), and it speaks to the artist in me and makes me want to create something. I don’t own it just yet, but I will someday. Hopefully someday soon.

5. The right artwork can do wonders for writers. I create a lot of my own art because it pertains to the books I’m working on, but I love looking at other peoples’ art for inspiration. Be it for story, character, or otherwise, art always speaks to me as a writer looking for some sort of inspiration.

Click on the image to go to the owner’s shop listing

This particular piece speaks volumes to me in that the subject looks a lot like one of my own characters. You can find this print and plenty of others, as well as other products, in Fernanda Suarez’s shop on Society6. Her work is amazing, and if you like the above painting, you’ll love what else she has available.

Love these ideas? Share yours in the comments! This post is only the beginning. I will be doing roundup lists at times to put together some of my favourite products and images that I’ve found have helped me in some way, and putting them here on the blog in the hopes that maybe those things will help other writers and creative souls the way they’ve helped me.

PS, I’m currently running a campaign to help raise money to publish the first book of my series! Please take a look at the campaign page here ==> Between Love and Death <== and help out if you can, even if it’s just sharing the link on your own space. Thanks!

2 thoughts on “5 Inspirational Gifts Writers Will Love

Leave a Reply

