One Line Story #18

ols18

It has been so warm here today that it’s been hard to concentrate on pretty much anything. It’s currently +32 C in the shade. Not the sun, in the shade. For those of you who don’t use Celcius, that’s +90 F. It was only about +15 C (+59 F) two days ago with rain and thunder, so the jump in heat has been a lot. Add to that the fact that at 10:00 this morning is was sunny and warm and already +18 C, and only three hours later we were blanketed in smoke from forest fires. So now the quality of sunlight has drastically declined and everything has a hue of orange to it, as well as the smoke being so thick that we can barely see the surrounding mountains that are usually so clear.

In other words, I’ve been trying to hide away in the shade and keep cool all day, and so far I haven’t really succeeded. Today I have managed to:

– ice three dozen cupcakes
– send some emails
– take photos of said cupcakes
– shop for baking supplies in the air conditioned Wal-Mart

Yeah, not a whole lot. Considering that’s in the 10 hours since I’ve been awake. I don’t do well in the sun. And no, I’m not just whining, I actually get sick from being out in the sun or heat for too long. It sucks. I wish I could be outside and enjoying it, but it has gotten so warm so fast that it’s slightly hard to actually enjoy it. This heat just kills what motivation I have and makes me want nothing more than to go sit in a lake for the day to try to keep cool.

In slightly better news, I’m getting closer to getting a short story published on Kindle. Well, way better news, but yeah. Even being excited is too much work right now. I can’t wait for the sun to go down in 5 hours so that maybe it will finally cool off a bit and I won’t feel like I’m cooking alive on my couch.


PS, I’m currently running a campaign to help raise money to publish the first book of my series! Please take a look at the campaign page here ==> Between Love and Death <== and help out if you can, even if it’s just sharing the link on your own space. Thanks!

4 thoughts on “One Line Story #18

Leave a Reply

