What is Patreon? Can it help my big top secret project?

So there’s this thing I’ve been thinking about for a long time… It’s a site called, Patreon. It’s meant for artists, creative types in general, and it’s a way to help gain support from your fan base, all while giving something back to them in return and reaching your goals.

What I’ve been thinking about specifically is a dream project of mine. It’s something that I’ve been dying to do since I was young, and if I can get enough help through that site, I can finally make it a reality. So what is this project I’m rambling about? It’s a graphic novel. A graphic novel based on the series of novels I keep going on about, to be exact.

This isn’t some flight of fancy I’m daydreaming about, though. It’s something I’ve been planning for a while already. I actually already have it started, but it’s not going anywhere for the time being. At least not really. It’s a very slow process when I have a million other things distracting me, but that’s where Patreon comes in.

It’s a subscription based platform where for a certain amount per month, I can receive some support that will help me in that it will make me able to take more time to make it happen. It also means that Patrons who do subscribe will receive perks every month of their subscription. This could be anything from being able to read the comic pages as they are finished to having access to a fully NSFW gallery of my art that usually goes completely unseen by anyone but myself. I will be sharing WIPs there for Patrons, as well as tutorials of how I do things and some fully finished art pieces that may not be shared anywhere else.

It’s also a great way for you to get a better feel for the characters I write about and their stories. This graphic novel will follow the story of my books closely, with few deviations from the story, which means you can get a sneak peek at the first part of Between Love and Death, which I plan to publish later this year.

How much does it cost for subscribers? This is the awesome part. Anywhere from $1 to $20 per month. You choose. Or you can make a one time donation to help out if you would rather not make monthly payments. It’s a pretty simple process for myself and for anyone who is kind enough to help me out. And it’s a win-win situation for all parties.

What will this graphic novel look like? I use two very different and distinct styles in my art, but this is an example of what style will be used for this project. It involves quite a lot of work on my part, as it’s a combination of both traditional and digital mediums, which is why support for this project would mean so much. Each page has panels that need to be drawn, inked, scanned, and then digitally coloured. Some pages have several little drawings/paintings all in one. It’s a very time consuming job, but it’s a passion of mine. Yes, I will still be working on it as much as I can even without support, but a real show of support from my readers could make this happen much faster than what I have planned so far. Plus it will help me with my actual novels as well, as it will (as illogical as it sounds) help free up more of my time for creating.

Consider this a combined project between my art and writing that will help make both happen in a more timely fashion than I’ve been able to make possible so far.

So will you help me with my secret project?

If you want to know more, follow this link to my account on Patreon. Again, anything will help, and you will get to see some of my more private work as well depending on what you choose.

Leave a Reply

