Yukomicon is over – Back to “Regular Programming”!

Hey everyone, sorry for the lack of flash fiction challenge on Saturday. The convention was just too much for me to even st aside a few minutes to write up the challenge for the week. There will be a new challenge up again this Saturday, though, and I will be back to my usual post frequency of a new post every day or two. If you want a shorter challenge to get you by until then, leave a comment below. I have no problem writing two up this week to make up for the lack of posts lately.

Now on to the fun stuff!

The convention was amazing this past weekend. Small, sure – this is a town of only about 26,000, after all – but amazing. I got to meet some amazing artists from out of town who made the journey from other cities in Canada to be here, as well as the voice actor for a character in one of my favourite shows as a child. Which show? Prepare to understand a fraction of how nerdy I really am. I met Toby Proctor at the convention. For me, he’s the voice of Tuxedo Mask from Sailor Moon. For others, he is other characters entirely, but for me it’s all about Tuxedo Mask. The best part? Not only did I meet him, but my booth was set up next to his all weekend. And before I even got a chance to think about it, he was striking up conversation with my friend and I. We had no chance to freak out at all over it before we were deep in numerous random conversations with him. He’s an amazing guy, and it was sad to see him go after spending the whole weekend hanging out with him, at and outside of the convention.

IMG_5587

My booth babe, Poison Ivy

I also got to have dinner and drinks with a handful of artists from Edmonton who are regular convention goers, and who sell their work at conventions all over the country and the US. I got prints from a couple of them, as they were too good to pass up. Seriously, if you enjoy nerdy art, or art in general, really, go check out some of the artists.

Johnni Kok was one of my favourites. I ended up buying three prints from him, one of which will be going on my living room wall while the other two will occupy the walls of my new office. I won’t tell you which ones I bought. You just have to go look at his art for yourself. Daniel Schneider is another artist who will have a piece of art on my living room wall, as well as one in my office. He has some pieces that aren’t available yet that I may end up buying as prints when they do become available. Plus I got a super cute Luna sticker from Pickletoez, who was set up directly across from  me all weekend. My partner in crime, who helped me all weekend, also bought a couple of prints from her, and both are gorgeous.

On top of all of that, I got to make a couple of costumes for aforementioned partner in crime to wear at the convention to help promote my table, and I made from good connections and new friends. Plus I gained a new model that is willing to do some cosplay shoots in the future, which is a huge bonus for me being in such a small town. Plus I got to do a photo shoot with a cosplayer from down south, Andy Rae, who definitely rocked it, despite the shoot itself only being about two minutes long. I don’t have photos 3edited from that just yet, but they look awesome so far.

IMG_5593

The nerdiest table in the Yukon

All in all, it was an amazing weekend, and I am so excited to do it all over again next year. And I think spending so much time with so many other amazing and supportive artists was just the kick I needed to jump back into all of my own projects and try even harder to get out to some more conventions next year aside from the local one. I found it was a great way to get my art out there, but it was also good to talk to people who are interested in the types of things I write about. I gathered a lot of interest for my upcoming book just by having conversations with the people who stopped by the booth to look at the art I’ve done of the characters from the series. Who knows, maybe it will help when the book actually launches in December.

That said, I think I’ve rambled enough for today. I’m still trying to wrap my head around the events of the weekend and get back to my normal schedule. I’ll be back again tomorrow with something else, though, possibly a one liner because I miss doing those so much.


Between Love and Death, the debut novel from Kimberley Crawford’s Love and Death Series, is scheduled for release on December 9th, 2015.


 

Leave a Reply

