One Line Story #41

ols41wm

I’m lost in my story again. Which is why I keep writing one liners that feel like this. The mood of the books takes over everything sometimes, it seems. This is definitely not how I’m feeling at the moment. I’m actually in a pretty good mood and more than a little excited to go for a long hike this afternoon with my best friend and our dogs. The weather here has finally decided to let up a little and give us some sunshine before the snow comes into the valley from the mountains, so we are going to take advantage. The snow is a bit early this year, and we may not have much longer before it’s winter here.

This may seem like a bad thing to most people, but I actually love winter. I love the snow, and I love the cold. I’m weird like that. I have a love-hate relationship with the cold, I should say. I love it because everything changes in the cold, including how sound travels. Everything sounds different when you stand outside at 40 below. Plus it’s just pretty when the ice fog lingers after sunrise. And as much as I love the fall colours we are getting right now, I enjoy the snow on the mountains almost as much.

Another reason I love winter so much is that I seem to get more done when it’s cold out. I’m not sure why, because I go outside almost as much in the winter as in the summer, but I’m more productive in these early months when the weather starts getting colder. It’s a trend I noticed while talking to a friend a couple of weeks ago. When I’ve worked on my books in the past, I’ve always picked them up to write in the months of August, September, and October more than any other month. Maybe I’m just more inspired this time of year. Who knows. All I know is I plan to take full advantage this year and actually get a lot done.


Between Love and Death, the debut novel from Kimberley Crawford’s Love and Death Series, is scheduled for release on December 9th, 2015.


 

Leave a Reply

