Flash Fiction Challenge: Pick a Song (12.09.15)

Time for another challenge! I know I’ve been slow with the posts again, this week has been hell. But now that things seem to be a little more in order again, I am hoping to jump back in. I’ve been super busy with my photography business as of late, seeing as that’s what’s paying my bills, so that’s taken priority this week. But now that I’ve got some things worked out for that, and a better schedule, I have some longer posts planned for all of you. That’s right, I’ve got more writing tips for everyone.

Anyway, this week I’m giving you something easy for the challenge. Well, I think it’s easy. It’s a habit I was taught in high school, and it’s stuck with me ever since. Your challenge for this week is to write a story inspired by a song. How you do it is up to you. If you want to listen to that song on repeat while you write, go for it. I usually turn on the song and start taking notes. Anything that comes to mind, any feeling, any scene, any character, they all get jotted down on a piece of paper. Then I just sit and write a story based on what I wrote while listening to it.

Here’s the catch: I don’t want you choosing your songs. Turn on the radio, hit shuffle all on your phone or mp3 player, whatever you use for music, and the first song that comes on is your song. Whether it’s a song you like or not. Or you could even just put a call out on social media and use the first song that’s suggested.

Write 1,000 words for this story, and be sure to share which song you used and the artist so that other people can find it.

You have until noon (PST) on Friday, September 18th

Write the short story and post it on your blog, website, whatever you use to share your writing online and comment with a link to it here on this post so that everyone can find it. This is also open to anyone who wants to create a poem rather than a story. So if you’re more a poet than a storyteller, feel free to join in as well.

Go write an awesome story and get back here with your link!

PS, if your story is NSFW, please state that in the comment along with the link just in case.


Between Love and Death, the debut novel from Kimberley Crawford’s Love and Death Series, is scheduled for release on December 9th, 2015.


 

3 thoughts on “Flash Fiction Challenge: Pick a Song (12.09.15)

  1. Z. says:

    This is a bad ass challenge. I’m terrified of what song my phone will land on. I have a strange collection. I believe I will give this one a go.

Leave a Reply

