Winter is Coming

And with it, cold weather, snow, more darkness than people from southern regions can imagine, and a whole lot of creativity. Didn’t expect that last one, did you? This time of year has always been my most productive. Some people have certain hours of the day or days of the week that they find to be their most fruitful. I have a season. Or two.

Fall and early winter have always been the most creative months for me. I’m not sure why. I’ve never been able to pinpoint it. There’s something in the air that changes. The energy seems to shift, and plants and animals all settle in for the cold months in whichever way works best for them. Maybe that’s all I’m doing — settling in for the winter. Either way, it’s that time again. Most of the writing I’ve ever done has been during these months. I tend to be so busy during the summer every  year enjoying what little warm weather we get that my writing gets pushed aside until the weather starts getting bad again.

The snow is on the mountains, and has been for a month already. We’ve even had snow here in the valley, although it didn’t last more than a day. It’s like the more snow I see around me, the more creative energy I feel. It could just be from when I was young, and we always tried to keep busy inside rather than going outside in the cold all the time.

Whatever it is, I can feel it, like a new beginning or some sort of rebirth, and it always happens now. The leaves have all fallen from the trees, the snow is creeping further down the mountains, and I can’t help but drink more hot chocolate and tea and burn more candles. I can’t help but get cozy in my chair with my notebooks and laptop and create something. There’s just something in me that sparks every autumn, begging to come to the surface and do its thing for a while as I sit back and let my fingers type and the words flow, so much so that I go back over what I’ve written and realize I can scarcely remember writing it at all.

Is there a time of year that  you find you are more creatively inclined, or more productive in general? I’ve never really thought about it much until recently, although it’s something I have definitely noticed in past years. I’m interested to know if this is just something that I feel, or if maybe there are other creative types out there who experience this same rush of energy for a period of time that helps to inspire and motivate beyond what is normal.


Between Love and Death, the debut novel from Kimberley Crawford’s Love and Death Series, is scheduled for release on December 9th, 2015.


 

Leave a Reply

