One Line Story #46

ols46wm

I spent most of yesterday editing, but I did manage to get quite a bit done. I’m happy with the progress, although I think my brain needs a break. I feel like I can’t think straight, even after a full night’s sleep.

Anyway, this one liner is one that I wrote a few days ago. Again, very much inspired by events in the book or the characters involved and the mood of the scenes I’m editing. Not to say that this is actually from the book, but it does have the same atmosphere. I’m so exhausted right now from editing that I don’t think I have it in me to ramble as much as I normally do.

What I can tell you is that editing, despite being the bane of my existence for the moment, is going well, and I am actually a lot happier with where I am and the quality of the story and the writing than I expected to be. Some parts, of course, need a lot more work than others, but I edited one of the longer chapters last night and realized that it is almost completely okay now. I found maybe 3 errors in the entire thing, which was a huge relief to me. Some of the other chapters didn’t look so nice when I went through with my purple pen to make changes. I’m not saying this thing is going to be a masterpiece, but it will be far from the scribbled notes it once was.

I mean, it is still my first book, and that means no matter how hard I try, it’s not going to be perfect. I’m not claiming to be an amazing writer, or that I have some great knowledge of how to write a good story. But I’m trying, and that’s still better than a lot of other people who never bother to put pen to paper and write their stories. It’s not like I can’t go back and edit it all over again after I have more experience, or maybe have someone else edit it for me (dream come true) if I can afford it later down the road.

What I can promise you with this story is this: It will be raw and emotional, and it is the story that I need to tell. Not everyone will like it, and some of the content will make certain people uncomfortable. As far as I’m concerned, that’s not my problem. I’m not writing this to make people happy, I’m writing it so that I can finally be done with it after all these years. It’s dark, painful, emotional, erotic, and angsty. There are scenes that are hard for even myself to read. There are chapters that even make me so emotional I have to get up and walk away to calm myself. My promise to you, my readers, is this. I have done my absolute best to tell you the story with the most raw emotions of those characters. I haven’t held back even when it was hard for me to write. It was painful to write, but the amount of relief I feel having it so close to being done, and having written those things, is immeasurable.


Between Love and Death, the debut novel from Kimberley Crawford’s Love and Death Series, is scheduled for release on December 9th, 2015.


 

Leave a Reply

