Would you be willing to give some feedback?

I’ve hit that point in editing where no matter how much I change, nothing seems good enough. I’ve read, rewritten, and changed countless things countless times, and as the release date grows nearer, I can’t help but question whether or not this book will be ready, or even readable by the time it is scheduled to release. I’ve considered changing the release date to give myself more time, but I feel like changing the date now will make it easier to stop working on it and become complacent.

I know this is something all writers go through, but I still can’t help but question whether or not it will be a decently written book in the end. I love the story, but I feel like my writing is just not quite there yet.

My question for all of you right now is this. Would you be willing to give me some feedback on the book? I am considering posting the current version of the first chapter on the blog for people to read, and I am looking for anything that you may have to say about it. I never claimed to be an amazing writer, or that this book is will perfectly written, but I do want it to at least be presentable when I publish it. That’s still two months away, which still gives me two months to make more changes if need be.

I’m asking for comments on the first chapter, anything that might help me get it to where it needs to be before publishing. Unfortunately hiring an editor is just not realistic for me right now, despite some editors being much cheaper than others. I realize that in itself is already a risk, but I am so critical of my own work that I have cut nearly half the book to tighten the story, as well as completely rewriting whole chapters already. I am not afraid of the work involved in making a better version of what I have already, I would just like some outside perspective.

I only plan on sharing the first chapter, and if I do not hear any word from anyone on this post, I will wait until I have the final edits done before I post it. So please, please, PLEASE let me know if you are willing to help me out with this so I know whether to post the chapter now or later.

Any help is very much appreciated right now, as I feel like I’m editing myself in circles. Thanks in advance, guys, seriously. This has been eating at me, and I haven’t been able to get feedback from my beta readers just yet who are reading the whole book.


Between Love and Death, the debut novel from Kimberley Crawford’s Love and Death Series, is scheduled for release on December 9th, 2015.


 

26 thoughts on “Would you be willing to give some feedback?

  1. RedHeadedBookLover says:

    I would love so much to give you some feedback! I think that you should definitely post the first chapter like you suggested and let people tell you there thoughts because just by this post alone we can see you are a talented writer so I would love to read it! (: p.s. I really love your blog

    • Kimberley Crawford says:

      It’s mostly that the writing itself seems… It’s not quite right, I guess? And I’m not sure if it’s just me or if the writing is really as bad as I keep thinking it is. The plot is solid, I just want to feel as confident about the writing as I do about my characters and story.

      • ghostmmnc says:

        Ok, when you post it, I’ll read and see if I can give you any kinds of feelings I get from it. I’m sure it is fine…It’s just when we look at our own writing for so long, it does get all a bit jumbled up in the way we see it. It’s good to get some feed back, though.

  2. Patman says:

    For me, I never announce a publication date and just tell people that I’m writing something good just to be on the safe side until I’m ready for sure. The thing that I worry is not pursuing any story or leaving it hanging. It’s best not to blame yourself because your story doesn’t sound great. Keep writing with enthusiasm and find a suitable audience who can relate to what you’re writing about. That’s where you can get plenty of acceptance.
    Also, I’m looking for something to read since I’ve finished the other books I bought recently.

    • Kimberley Crawford says:

      I wish I could do it that way, but I found a while ago that without a deadline of some sort, I just sit on projects that never get finished. I know it’s almost done, and I know I can get it done, I’m just panicking because it’s my first book. I know I can have it ready, because I work better under deadlines, I’m just worried because it feels like I’m getting nowhere with it at the moment because I’ve been staring at the same story for so long.

Leave a Reply

