Some not-so-awesome changes in my plan…

As my regular readers will already know, I have a book that has been scheduled to release next week (December9th). That said, there have been some unfortunate changes in that plan.

I have been overwhelmed with work and sickness and so many other important projects with pressing deadlines that there is no way I can publish the first book in my series on that date and present my best work. It has been an entirely heartbreaking decision to make, but I would rather push the date back a few months than publish something I am no completely happy with.

There is a part of me that still wants to push through and make this happen, but I know it’s no longer possible to keep pushing. I have pushed myself to a point where even opening my computer to write a blog post has become so daunting that I avoid the laptop like the plague these days.

My hope is that if I have a few more months, I can spend more time on it, but not feel so pressured to get it all done in such a short amount of time that I stop sleeping and eating in order to work. Since I am also unsure of the fate of the story itself, I might just jump into a whole load of crap and combine both of the first books into one longer two part novel rather than publishing them separately. I feel like I am still too undecided on certain things to be comfortable putting Between Love and Death out there for the world to read.

This is definitely not what I wanted to be posting about today, but after a lot of thought and arguments with myself, it’s been decided that this is the best course of action to take. The book will still be released, and I am currently working on figuring out a date for it. When I do choose a date for the new release, I will post it here right away. I am currently looking at late March as an option, which will give me a bit of extra time to work out whatever bugs I might still find on a read-through and to decide if it will be published separate from the second book or as a first part in the same book.

Until I can find time to publish the first book, I will be working on short stories as well, and publishing them in ebook format. They’ll be quick reads and won’t cost much money. It’s mostly just for the sake of seeing something actually finished and hopefully building up enough of myself to get the novels published.

Thanks for understanding, guys. I really wish I had better news for all of you. When I get some short stories done and published, I’ll post links here so you can check them out. I may publish a short story about the same characters who are in the novels, so it will be a chance to check them out and get a feel for them a bit before the novels are released.

2 thoughts on “Some not-so-awesome changes in my plan…

  1. ghostmmnc says:

    I’m sure it must be a bit disappointing to move the release date a little further along, but if it doesn’t feel right to you, at this time, that’s ok. We understand, and will be awaiting the new date, when you are happy with everything that goes into publishing your book. Hope the artwork you’re planning on showing is coming along great, too! πŸ™‚

    • Kimberley Crawford says:

      Thanks so much! It’s extremely disappointing to have to push the release, but I’ve put so much into it in the last few months and I still don’t feel like it’s quite ready just yet. I know a lot of authors feel that way, but there’s something nagging at me and it’s been impossible to ignore. I’m hoping end of March or early April will give me enough time to get it more up to my standards. And the art is going great, thanks! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

