One Line Story #60

ols60wm

I am finally done for for the season! I finished work on Sunday night, but I had so many errands to run on Monday that it was hard to really say  was on time off. Now that I can just sit and work on wrapping gifts and baking and doing what I want for the next week, it finally feels like I am actually on time off.

Apparently I’m one of the lucky ones, as most people I know are working all week, including my boyfriend. Either way, I’m pretty excited to finally have this hectic month come to a close at least in some ways, just so I can finally relax a little. The most exciting part? Once I’m done my baking and finishing off the last of my gifts, I can take a few days to actually relax and watch movies or work on my art projects or write. I wanted so badly to get a short story written an published this month, but I didn’t even have time to do more than outline it. And seeing as it was a Christmas story, I won’t be publishing it now until next year, but whatever.

This is the first Christmas in years I am not working late up until Christmas Eve, and I am so excited to finally be able to enjoy the holidays again. Last year I worked until 2 AM on the night of Christmas Eve, right into Christmas Day. It was exhausting, and my boss didn’t even say thank you. It was expected because I was leaving on Boxing Day for a trip. So it’s nice to know that I’m in a better place this year, and that I have no boss to tell me I have to work late or come in for some extra cleaning or something on my days off. It’s crazy how much you miss those things when you haven’t had them in so long, and utterly relaxing the holidays are without work looming overhead.

Leave a Reply

