One Line Story #67

This week has been eventful here in the Yukon. I’ve been so busy that I haven’t been able to post this one liner until now, but to sum things up, the earth has been shaking off and on here since Monday morning. While feeling a faint shaking here isn’t unheard of, we had two major earthquakes early in the morning, which were then followed by aftershocks every few minutes for the rest of the day. We’ve had several earthquakes throughout the week, although none so strong as the first two. We aren’t feeling most of them, as they are too small to notice, but our entire city is on high alert right now waiting for the “big one” that we’ve been told might happen in the next week or so.

Needless to say, it was a shock for a lot of people here, and it’s still wreaking havoc on everyone’s nerves. I’m sure it’s a contributor to my insomnia this week. That said, though, after my heart stopped racing and I could think clearly again without the feeling of impending doom looming over me, I wondered what would happen if an earthquake had woken some of my characters from their slumber. A pair of brothers came to mind, staying in a small one room shack together, and that’s where the above one liner came from. I plan to have more of these done in the near future, as my schedule is finally opening up a bit more again. FINALLY I will have more free time to work on my countless projects – which means I should be able to spend more time working on posts again.

